top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Enve SES 2.2 (review)

Enve SES 2.2.

I do not often do reviews, mostly as I do not feel I know much about much. But just this once I feel I have to say what I think about these new wheels I have. Around a month ago we had the Rep for Saddleback. He brought in the hub and rim for the new SES 2.2 wheels they had coming out to the UK soon, both parts were incredibly light, looked very sexy but best of all they were offering a 5 year warranty.

Me, a little excited that my new Enve wheels ahve turned up just before my Tenerife trip....! :)

These wheels were used on the Tour de France with the team MTM Qhubeka. I cannot remember the exact stats but they seemingly had very very few breakages with the wheels. So they have offered this brilliant deal. The wheels themselves seem very expensive as an outlay, but with the thinking that you pretty much have a warranty for 5 years thats amazing!

How do they ride, well as I stated above, I generally do not know what I am talking about and without too much experience of wheels to judge. These wheels though even I can feel the difference, I previously had Dura Ace C24’s so not a bad set of wheels. Having done my recent camp in Tenerife with these wheel I can say I CAN feel the difference! Weather the rolling up the hills has made a difference I am not sure. The thing I can feel is the stiffness of the wheel, when I get out the saddle climbing the bike has a better solid feel, but mostly I feel the difference when descending. I have not taken any risks out here, but on a few sections which I know are very safe and can see the road completely I pushed the cornering. The wheels are just so solid and connected to the road.

The wheels without my ugly mug in them, very pretty.

My only slight moan is more me being an idiot and not used to riding carbon wheels. Those of you who have ridden carbon will know that they tend of squeak a little under heavy braking. These wheels do this, and it just puts me off. I have also heard a few horror stories about the carbon getting super hot and tires bursting, these stories were from a few years ago, but that is in my mind when I am hearing the squeaking. This is nothing to do with the wheels, purely me being paranoid.

All said, and it might sounds stupid for a set of wheels that RRP around £3,000, but I think they are a very good investment. I think with the Warranty and the Lifetime Crash replacement its almost a no brainer if you are going to get a pair of top end wheels. Even for me to be able to feel a difference they must be good!

Hope this might have helped a few of you select some new wheels....

Thanks for reading.


  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

WHO AM I?

Hi, my name is Paul Hamblett, AKA piglet. I am a former elite lightweight rower turned cyclist. I have created this blog to share my training progress, race results, and any interesting experiences as I attempt to fulfill my potential in this sport.

bottom of page