top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Haute Route Dolomites Stage 4, Stelvio Pass.

So today was the Dolomites Individual Time Trial. Late last night and even as close as 20 minutes before start time I was torn between riding the Time Trial flat out and try to get on the Podium again, and riding it just under full gas and saving a "bit" for the next two plus weeks that follow. In the end I decided to hit a wattage just under my 100% pace and see where that put me. I knew that yesterday I was in a good place climbing at similar power so there was the plan.

We awoke today to clouds licking the high mountain peaks way way above us. We had been informed in the briefing there may be light showers at some point and so it turned out. As I left our hotel it had already been raining consistently for an hour and the roads were very much not to my liking, but going up its never a major problem. I spun the two or three minutes down to the start, not a warm up but that will do. I arrived in the start pen area around half an hour early, I then heard one of the organisers saying if your ready you can go when you like. Ideal, I am only going to get colder and colder now I am already wet... Right lets go!

So you roll down the start ramp and here in Bormio there is a lot of cobbles in the market square, very pretty but not a cyclists choosen surface (well may be some but not this one)! The timing mat was around 900m from the ramp so I used this to warm up a little then hit the mat and started my timer. I had a number in my head of the power I wanted to average for the climb hoping it would not be too hurty for the duration. I glanced down after a minute or two and as usual I was above the target number.

Like most of the Dolomites climbs we have done the grade changes rather a lot so catching a rhythm is tricky. I was generally trying to remain seated as much as I can to keep the efficency through the pedals. after around 35 minutes I was trying to work out the maths and decided I was nearly half way and should be able to get a time in the 72-74 min area. I always like to play games with the speed, altitude, distance etc. This keeps your mind occupied and motivated at times where it starts to hurt.

I was never truly comfortable but also never hurting and nodding about or biting the handle bar as some people like to describe it! Nearing the top I started to overtake a couple of guys who I have noticed in the main group so I knew I was doing a reasonable job, one of them even sat in my slip stream after I had overtook him. That called for 30 seconds of standing and a bit of a push. I do not mind towing people if they ask, though I am sure in a Time Trial its not allowed. He was quickly disposed of and into the final 3k we went. I just remained with the steady but tough pace until the final 300m where the rest of our group were standing shouting at me. So I felt obliged to put in a bit of a sprint.

Looking at the provisional results I was 5th, so again a good day. Took a little time off some people around me in GC. I do keep telling myself I am not really racing these guys, most of them are doing one week not three but the competitive edge that we all have continues to come to the surface.

photo-6.JPG

After we finished the clouds had cleared and this is the view the valley had been hiding!


  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

WHO AM I?

Hi, my name is Paul Hamblett, AKA piglet. I am a former elite lightweight rower turned cyclist. I have created this blog to share my training progress, race results, and any interesting experiences as I attempt to fulfill my potential in this sport.

bottom of page