top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Third and final day of the weekend!

Day 3 of the Bank Holiday weekend.

So I arrived in Somerton where the Tour of Wessex is based, I have heard great things about this event from everyone who has been and ridden the event! So I was looking forward to going and possibly riding the Monday’s stage 3. I had not heard from the Haute Route organisers all week about what their plans for me over the day and a half in Wessex were. So I presumed I would not be riding. I found parking easily and saw they had a really good set up, huge marque loads of food and tea and helpers ready to assist. The big one, there were loads of toilets (and very clean ones too).

I met up with Ben the Haute Route rep there, we had a coffee and discussed how we can best promote the Haute Route. He told me he would like me to do the ride the next day, this was fine apart from I did not know the route or how long it was and what elevation gain there was. I soon found out... 112 miles.... 2800m of vertical climbing and an 8am roll out. This meant a 05:30 wake up. So sounded like the longest day mileage wise since my knee issues. I checked the forecast and saw we were going into the wind on the first 2-3 hrs then we should be helped back home in the second half!

I planned to start in the first group if I could and if I felt good do some work on the front. Mostly I wanted to get to the turning point then I can roll back at my own pace. There was 2 feed stops on the route, I knew some would be too keen to keep riding and not stop but I am all about eating and keeping the fuel going in.

The lead group went off reasonably firmly in the first hour or so, doing the usual gig of hitting the climbs super hard, but unusually they then all sat up over the top of each rise. Hitting the climbs normally gets rid of riders, “makes selection” as they call it. So letting off over the top of the rises seemed quite odd. It suited me as I was not keen to go super hard up the climbs then I just casually rolled back into the group as they sat up. This continued for the 2hr until we approached Porlock where I knew there was a really nice climb. I had enjoyed the views so far and the ride in general I felt like I was breathing but comfortable even able to do some stinks on the front.

I was speaking to a friend and fellow Haute Route rider/finisher Benoit. He said the big climb was in the next k or so. Then just as we started the climb there was the first feed stop, I thought this was meant to be at the top of the climb, either way I was stopping and filling my belly! :-) The lead group was now down to 20-25 and only 2 of us stopped strangely. I was in no rush as I knew the wind was mostly behind me from here on so letting the group go was no problem, I would be able to get back in good time even if the knee starts to flare up.

Once finished my fuelling which included cornish pasties scotch eggs and much much more I started the climb on my own in silence. This was the highlight of my day, meandering my way through this tree lined climb in the quiet I was able to take in the full joy of riding my bike. Usually I always have a set goal for a ride but now I was just enjoying it. After around 10 minutes the trees started to thin out and I was welcomed by a tickle of sun and an amazing view back up the coast looking behind me. I decided as I was on my own I would take the time to get a picture.

This area of Exmoor really is beautiful and we were lucky with the weather too. I finished this climb (the biggest climb I have done in the UK) and kept the pressure on the pedals without going super hard. 15 minutes passed over rolling countryside and then suddenly I was very surprised to see the lead group ahead. I found an appropriate place for the call of nature and set about catching them, once again without stretching myself too much with the thought of hurting my knee. I re joined the group and helped work on the front quite a bit, I do feel that stopping for food helped me greatly as it felt like some people were starting to struggle.

The next hour or so passed pleasantly with again some really nice roads and views. In the final hour I was either on the front or most likely sat a few meters off the back so I could keep the speed consistent, Benoit at one point came back and chatted to me and we ended up letting the group go and chatting our way for the final 30-40k. Really good to properly enjoy riding and get a great hard ride from it too.

Those doing the Haute Route or those looking for a really tough weekend of riding this event is well worth a look! Can not really fault it, food after might be a touch expensive but there again I am pretty tight when it comes to spending money. My post ride meal was 2 cans of Rice pudding before I was off doing my Haute Route promotion with fliers and talking to people.

I eventually got the kit in my car and started my drive home all rather tired...! So as I said earlier, most of you will probably feel this was a pretty quiet sounding weekend but for me thats as flat out as it comes... The drive home was 2 and a half hours but it felt like a lot longer...! I must say my alarm the next morning at 06:00 was not welcome...

Thanks as usual for reading, I hope some will find this useful..!


  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

WHO AM I?

Hi, my name is Paul Hamblett, AKA piglet. I am a former elite lightweight rower turned cyclist. I have created this blog to share my training progress, race results, and any interesting experiences as I attempt to fulfill my potential in this sport.

bottom of page