top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Haute Route Dolomites, Stage 6

Last nights briefing from Andrea brought us misery in the form of rain and potentially very cold conditions at the top of the three climbs. All of which over 2000m. Our overnight stay was at 300m, we had a 51k neutral start and in the rain. Then we climbed continually until 2200m. Yes simple math tell you a huge elevation gain. I had decisions to make in regards of what to wear, and what kit to have ready at the summits. I ended up going away from my normal choice and followed Andreas advice. Despite the rain and cold I opted for bare legs with deep heat, arm warners and a poncho on top till the times section started. Luckily the rain slowed pre start line and I started to feel the deep heat working. Soon after the start line I was warming up. I started a little ahead of the lead group and when they passed me Andrea was showing them the way. They soon dropped be but I stayed in my rhythm as my legs were feeling decent. The group never got out of sight and I knew there was a flat section in the next village. Once I hit the false flat it was now or never.... So I turned the level on the gas and time trialled, literally just before the road went up again I got on the back of the leaders which was around 8 strong. Andrea had attacked and was up the road, so I was not obliged to work, ideal! :-) The guys started to put in a few surges and I was as usual dropped by a few meters, but this time I was dropped with two others. Again it flattened so my territory, and I brushed the gap. Today I was gaining a little bit of confidence. I sat in the group for a few k's just on threshold power until the surges started again. We were getting into the clouds and a little bit of hail greeted us. I was starting to gain on the group again and a few of them dropping off. I was sensing some people were struggling and as I caught some they had that look in their eye...! Once summited I grabbed my wind proof and bottle. We had a 5k descent then the pordoi to finish where time was off. As the roads were soaked I took this descent uber steady. Then back up to 2200m. This was done mostly in my own as I lost the lead guys on the down (as standard). Bleep and the time was off again. I found out Punto guys and started getting my wet kit off and dry kit on. Hot tea was served (EXCELLENT), then I heard a guy say the final timed section had just been cancelled... WHAT...! I then heard that the local officials had withdrawn permission to ride the final climb timed, crazy! I also heard around 250 people then finished the ride, the rest got in bus's. Not really fair on those who are racing as it was not an insignificant mileage with a 10k climb as well. After yesterday's "difficulties" I thought the madness was over but no. I'm not sure how this sort of comedy could be over looked, but it was, so a lot of disappointed people did not get to race the day fully. We have discussed the many errors this week in our group and they say the organisers will ask Andrea and his team about doing a route which is decent and allows people to race instead of this dull rolling with huge neutral sections. This week is nearly over, usually I don't want the racing to end but this year.... Hmmmm it's been disappointing overall. Punto tours have done an awesome job, just the regular cock ups have steadily grinded me down and my performances have been no better than average at best. We'll see if the legs work again tomorrow. No rain we are heading too... Ciao


  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

WHO AM I?

Hi, my name is Paul Hamblett, AKA piglet. I am a former elite lightweight rower turned cyclist. I have created this blog to share my training progress, race results, and any interesting experiences as I attempt to fulfill my potential in this sport.

bottom of page