top of page

FOLLOW ME:

A new test for FTP.

Step Test with help from Ken Buckley.

So Tuesday afternoon had came and I met Ken for the first time, previously we have been out on Reliability Rides together but on these they are more like road races so we never actually spoke. All I knew, he was a big strong guy on the bike, and off the bike he is also a big strong guy! I soon discovered he knows his onions on physiology as well. He had spoken with the guys at Athlete Service to do a test with someone. Luckily my name came up, so I was the guinea pig and happy to be as well.

Ken running me through the protocol of the test to come.

Once we had done the hello’s and brief comparing stories about rowing we got down to business.

Ken started by asking if I had done any of these tests before, “well yes” was the answer. I have quite a bit of experience from my testing at the JR hospital. Ken ran me through the protocol of his test and it had reasonable similarities with previous tests I have done. The one big difference was the tool he was using. He was measuring the oxygen saturation in my calf. Really interesting. See link for all the technical words and how this LED device works.

https://www.bsxinsight.com/

So the protocol was 3 minute at a very easy wattage then a reasonable jump up. Then steps of 20 watts each 3 minute. This continued until failure.

From 180 watts up to 280 was pretty simple, each time my Heart Rate would jump up a few beats but no major issues with the legs. Once at 280 watts the legs started to feel it and the sweat started to appear. Next up, the start of sticky legs…. Each upping of wattage upped the effort and the feeling I was getting close to the end game.

I believe I managed to get into the 400 watt step and lasted only a few seconds. Then the test was stopped.

From knowing my numbers, and doing the Watt bike pre max test a few, with the test Tuesday with Ken we have compared the numbers and they correspond pretty well.

The only way to improve all these tests to gain more information would be to add a Lactate tester. Getting this would just add more accuracy of the data we already have.

Thanks for reading, hope your all enjoying the weekend....


  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

WHO AM I?

Hi, my name is Paul Hamblett, AKA piglet. I am a former elite lightweight rower turned cyclist. I have created this blog to share my training progress, race results, and any interesting experiences as I attempt to fulfill my potential in this sport.

bottom of page